Many people living in cities these days do not get enough physical exercise. What are the causes of this? How to tackle the problem?

Growing urbanization has deviated the focus of mankind from a healthy lifestyle to a wealthy lifestyle where people are running behind success and have forgotten the necessity of physical fitness. In this essay, we will discuss a few reasons for this trend and some possible solutions for it. To begin with, the majority of the working population these days are living a sedentary lifestyle. In other words, their life starts at work and ends there and they do not get enough time for their physical and mental health. Also, the intervention of technology in human's life has eliminated the physical movement required for doing the daily chores. For example, most of my colleagues have the same day-routine where they wake up, get ready for office, travel by car, spend the whole day sitting at a chair, return back home, sleep and repeat the entire schedule every day. And, they cannot find time for the well-being of their own body. In addition, since they have equipment such as washing machine, dishwasher, house-help, all their household chores are also taken care of. In contrast, one can resolve this problem by inculcating some basic exercises within the work routine. To elaborate, people can always take out a few minutes from their busy schedule and do some simple body movements without hampering the work. For instance, there are various Yoga activities that we can do while sitting on the chair such as leg stretch, neck rotation, hand movement. Furthermore, individuals can also do some of the housework that was previously done by machines on their own. To exemplify, instead of using a washing machine I wash my clothes by myself so as to maintain the physical movement of my body. To summarize, sedentary lifestyle and technological intervention are two of the main cause of decreased body exercises in people which can be dealt with by involving simple fitness activities like yoga in our daily schedule and also by minimizing the support of machine in everyday house-job.