Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

Over last the thirty years, car ownership has become more common in human life. This situation is causing a lot of trouble for people, forcing them to deal with big traffic congestion and air pollution. How true is this statement and what can be done to reduce car ownership? The problem with increased car ownership significantly affected cities in several ways. To exemplify, some roads are not adapted to heavy congestion of vehicles. Because of this, people aren’t able to get to their jobs or educational institutions on time. Moreover, this isn’t beneficial for the state which needs to stimulate the labour market, education and economic sectors. The second problem is air pollution which occurs due to the large amount of harmful gases that come out of cars. Nature and health of people are suffering as it becomes unbearable to live in such places. In my opinion, the problem with increased car ownership can be solved by developing transport infrastructure. Thus, states should buy more buses and trams and expand their metro system. With such reforms, the load on the roads will decrease and more people will switch to public transport which is beneficial for governments. In addition, air pollution will also decrease rapidly because of these measures as there will be fewer and fewer vehicles on the roads producing toxic gas emissions. These changes can Overall, this is a fact that the popularity of car ownership has increased dramatically over the last thirty years. Unfortunately, this has created a lot of problems that need to be solved.