Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many opinions suggest that students only focus on science subjects, but forget the crucial role of art- based ones. While many studies show that non-exam, art-based subjects help them, especially in secondary school, to improve their academic performance. Personally, I am with the above opinion because of the undeniable benefits it brings to students. Obviously, the arts often require confidence as well as self-expression in front of others or the crowds, so the most recognizable benefit of these subjects is self-assurance training for the youngers. This is also a helpful quality for many other domains in learning. Confident kids communicate more with their teacher about the difficulty that they have to face and find the right advice to ameliorate their academic outcome. Along with that, the arts such as drama, music also create opportunities for students to practice social skills:public speaking, presentation, team work. It can be said affỉmation that those skills offer a great advantage in all subjects since the majority of assigned tasks require such skills to successfully carry out. Moreover teachers typically have better impression of students possessing high-level of social skills. Another reason these subjects should be included on the schedule is that it helps students find their passion for other academic field. Taking literature as an example, when a student joins and loves a class of classical drama, he will have thoroughly learn about the writers own those plays, read many books to obtain the context, and further background information. Through these activities, they can enriche understanding as well as their passion for literature. Not only that, but the arts subjects are also a way to make students more interested in boring class like history. Learning historical events and dates through related plays or music shows makes it easier for them to remember than plainly reading the textbook. In conclusion, non-tested art subjects are an integral part of secondary school's curriculum as it greatly role in developing the necessary skills for teenagers and increasing their academic results.