Some people suggest that sport helps people learn about teamwork, but others say it can encourage to be too competitive. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

These days sports are common in all age groups. Some folks believe that sports help people in developing a skill like teamwork, while others say it motivates them to become more competitive. On one hand, most of the popular sports that are played these days like cricket, football, rugby or hockey involves teamwork, as they play as a team and not as individuals. In this case, the participants are expected to play as a group and lack of coordination among them can result in defeat. For example, in the game of football, players need to pass with each other to drive them forward toward the goal, however, if they go on to showcase their individual skills, they are easily stopped by the opponents. In a nutshell, games that are meant to play as a team needs teamwork than individual skills to succeed. On the other hand, sports can be competitive too. Firstly. The drive, resilience and hunger of a player to be the best among his/her peers is the sheer cause of this and secondly, friendly competition with the other members can help in further honing the skills, and also motivates him/her to excel further on a pitch. For example, the Indian team captain Virat Kohli in an interview stated, the level of practice and dedication it took, to become a player of his level and vying with the worlds best is a result of such cause. However, in a game like Cricket or Football, trying to prove he/she is the best by neglecting their teammates is a major flaw which can cause some serious issues. In my opinion, sports that are needed to be played as a group, coordination is an imperative skill that is required. This helps in developing the team as a group than focus on individual abilities. However, a friendly competition among themselves should be encouraged to reach their full potential. To conclude, its important to play sports that require teamwork with coordination and understanding to gain success, and friendly competition among teammates really pushes a player for an even positive impact and achieve their dream. Everyone should appreciate winning the trophy as a team, rather than focusing on individualistic success.