Some people say that if old people spend time and get along with others and exercise everyday they will become fit. However, nowadays old people are usually alone and do not talk to others which make them unhappy and unfit. Causes and solutions?

It is scientifically believed that social life plays an important role in the overall health of an elderly community. A portion of the society believe that exercise and social life with other people will help elderly citizens to keep fit and active, but the reality is not as mentioned. In this essay, we will discuss the causes and solutions to the isolated and unhappy life of the older population. To start with, elderly people are quite vulnerable to loneliness and social solitude. There are multiple reasons because of which older community isolate themselves. Primarily, getting weak and dependent, aged population think of themselves as unproductive and a burden on their loved ones. Furthermore, the death of a spouse would also have a deep impact as it might lead to depression. For example, according to research conducted by the UK, the majority of older public start living alone and cut off from their friends, neighbours and family. In short, retiring from work and suffering from disability and illness are other notable reasons that can lead to serious health degradation. Leisure and recreational activities are essential for living an active lifestyle. Numerous studies conducted indicate that exercising can help prevent symptoms of depression and dullness. Socializing with their companions is also equally significant. For instance, an elder population can engage in activities such as group picnics, brain games, shopping and other leisure pursuits in order to preoccupy themselves. Family and friends can also help to reduce loneliness among the older community. For example, taking out time from one’s busy schedule for the senior citizens and making them feel special in some way or the other. Old age homes can also be qualitatively improved. To conclude, there are several reasons for the loneliness and inactive lifestyle of elderly people like depression and decreased recognition. However, getting involved in local community activities, keeping in touch with friends and engaging in physical activities will benefit older people greatly.