Memorization of information by frequent repetition (rote learning) plays a role in most education systems. Do the advantages of this method of learning outweigh its disadvantages?

In today's world, there is a variety of opinions on such a topic as the effectiveness of rote learning in the educational process since some people consider that the advantages of this method outweigh the disadvantages or vice versa. In my opinion memorization by frequently repetition has more benefits and might help a lot of people to be more productive. Firstly, this essay will discuss efficient results of this type of learning as the main merit and, secondly, it will analyse the major drawback of this approach, namely, it might be anti motivational. The advocates of rote learning claim that when pupils are taught the same material seldom they are likely to remember it better and be better in the understanding of it. This is because not only does the repeated knowledge stick to the brain but also associations appeared that. Therefore, while repeating frequently rules or statements alumnus might put fewer efforts the more they have repeated already but they will refresh the information so it will not disappear from their memory. For instance, researchers have conducted a study that shows that people who have been repeating the material more often remember more and can easier explain the knowledge obtained. On the other hand, there are some demerits of this approach, namely the fact that it doesn't encourage students to learn more and doesn't give a lot of motivation which is crucial for productive studying. This is because frequent repetition requires monotonous and usually boring repetition of the same information every time. As a result, pupils might feel demotivated and drop their studying faster than they have planned and start learning something new. For example, scholars of Ukrainian schools are told to revise the material every week in order to succeed at the exams, but the majority can't spend so much time on it and therefore prefer just to quit revision. To conclude, I am firmly convinced that rote learning has more positive consequences than drawbacks that, in turn, makes it an efficient approach for memorization. Although students might get bored from constant recurrence the final results of this method are significantly more beneficial in comparison to other types of learning.