Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The world around us has definitely changed with the advent of technology. Human being nowadays are been monitored via their electronic devices by various organisations\individuals. In many cases, people are not aware of this happening. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this evolution. This essay will also discuss how I feel the advantages of this development don't outweigh the disadvantages. On one hand, technology has made our life easier whether it's looking for direction, looking for a restaurant to go out for dinner or which movie to watch tonight. With machine learning algorithms, we get a recommendation based on our previous choices which reduce the time to search and come at a decision. For example, I looked up for cafe near my area, not only I got a list of the cafe but they all were serving my favourite Italian cuisine which was based on my search on how to cook pasta a few days back. It amazes me how technology takes care of your taste. To recapitulate, technology does help you in decision-making. On the other hand, technology has brought the world closer but do we really want it to be that close? Every day of our life we are being monitored by one organisation or the other in search of a prospective customer and there is no sense of boundary when it comes to personal space. For instance, I was looking for a camera a few days back and I got an email with an offer on the lens. Even when I didn't want to buy any lens, I was persuaded to buy with the deal they were offering. Another example can be all your electronic's camera can be operated by hackers to catch hold of you in the most uncomfortable position which can be used to blackmail a person by posting the same on the internet. Which leads to depression and sometimes people commit suicide. To conclude, In my opinion, there is a lot more disadvantage when it comes to people being monitored than advantages. Every person should have their right to personal space and they should be informed before any personal information is utilized for self-benefit.