In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

People often say that building a suburban shopping complex is generally disadvantageous to some extent. Although some drawbacks of such development could be seen, they are in my view, eclipsed by the considerable drawbacks. The most outstanding disadvantage of shopping centres established in the surrounding areas of cities is that city centres will record a reduction in trade. This is because stores and supermarkets of suburban shopping complexes will attract a large number of customers who prefer going to places where various types of goods and services are available. Instead, stores in the centre of the city will lose their customers because they sell goods and provide services separately, unconnectedly, and not gathered in the same place to facilitate people's movement. Nevertheless, I think this is the only shortcoming when a shopping complex is erected in the outskirts because such development will make a shift towards other forms of businesses such as lodging, restaurants and so on. There are several advantages worthy to notice when deploying this type of shopping facility. Firstly, people have a better chance to experience shopping and relaxing at once. Obviously, shopping complexes are commonly designed as a stratified structure with each floor being served for a specific function. For example, a typical shopping complex has a ground floor for selling cooking ingredients, a second floor for selling household commodities, a third floor for displaying fashion and the top one for restaurants, cafeteria and recreational services, which means customers can enjoy recreational services after shopping time. Secondly, relocating shopping complexes in suburbs means that the land fund of a city is used rationally. Areas within the city can then be used to meet more urgent demands of residents like working, education, and healthcare. As a result, hospitals, schools, and working offices are constructed inside the city so that people can easily move and save time to reach these locations. In conclusion, the development of out-of-town shopping complexes has benefits deserving to be considered than its insignificant detriments.