Describe some of the problems that overpopulation causes, and suggest at least one possible solution.

The population of the world is changing. The size of the existing human population exceeds the actual carrying capacity of Earth. It concerns demographers that the problem of overpopulation is affecting our lives. In order to confront the negative effects, it is important to find out what kinds of problems are caused and provide one probable solution for this issue. There are three problems with overpopulation. To begin with, a lack of residential areas is a crucial challenge. In other words, inadequate accommodation perhaps cannot be supplied for all humankind, with the number of people increasing. What is more, overpopulation can destroy the environment. As an illustration, in order to construct the buildings or infrastructure, a large area of forest is demolished. This causes natural resources and wildlife to disappear. In addition, there is a matter of concern that food shortage could result in famine. This means that most farming lands are likely to convert to dwelling to resolve habitable problems; therefore, the crops cannot be supplied for people to consume. In terms of solution, governmental interference is inevitable. The governments should educate people to limit the size of the family. For example, the Chinese government had implemented an ‘one-child’ policy so that the number of people was downsized in China, which is the largest population by far in the world. If Chinese couples have more than one child, they will get a fine. Furthermore, introduced abortion laws may control overcrowding people. Some authorities do not allow the woman’s abortion because the end of pregnancy in an artificial way is against the human right for a new baby. However, if pregnancy termination becomes legal, the government could have effective control of the population. As has been shown, overpopulation contributes to some problems and is solved by governments. In conclusion, governments are supposed to take responsibility for increasing the number of people.