Fewer and fewer young people are choosing to become teachers. Why do young people not want to be teachers? How could this be changed?

More and more young people refuse to pursue a teaching career. As a result, the number of teachers is decreasing day by day but it can be tackled by various state measures. The main problem is that teaching job is becoming increasingly less popular within the youth. The most significant reason for that is that people of this occupation seem to be underpaid and get a low salary. Consequently, it might eventually lead to a severe shortage of teachers in the near future. Obviously, if there were not enough people who would like to teach students at school, the education level would deteriorate rapidly. One effective solution to deal with this situation is for the government to encourage youngsters to choose to become teachers by enforcing the new legislation. Authorities should not only increase the payroll but promote the teaching job as an influential, well-respected and reputable profession. If they managed to approach the problem in this way, it would have a positive influence on the teaching career’s prestige and overall image. Being a teacher would seem to be rewarding and profitable. Therefore, more young people would like to pursue a career in this field. In conclusion, the government should reconsider some provisions regarding the teaching job in order to solve the problem of lack of intention to become teachers among young people.