Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by a few individuals that food ought to be produced in a nation as much as possible so that negligible importing is required. I support this notion to a large extent and my viewpoints for the same will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. Admittedly, production of crops depends upon the geographical factors, suitable land and weather conditions. This is primarily for a fact that such parameters decide which crops can be yielded in a particular area. For this reason, it is not likely to grow every kind of food in all the countries. Hence, they are reluctant to import food from other parts of the world in order to feed their residents. For instance, Arab countries fit well into this situation, whose deserted lands and dry weather do not allow them to produce food locally. However, it is with the maximum production of food within the country that economy is revived. In other words, when no food is imported, the demand for the local crop is increased and eventually, farmers get the highest price for their yield. In this way, in the absence of tax and other related costs to importing, not only the agriculture sector booms but also other industries associated with it, thereby benefitting the entire economy. This is apparently witnessed in case of a country like Argentina, where the economy largely depends on agriculture, and most of the food is produced domestically, contributes 50% to their GDP. Apart from this, by producing most of the crops domestically, dependency on other nations is eliminated. It has been observed that food is not likely to import during weather crisis such as heavy rains from other countries. As a consequence, people have to suffer due to food starvation, while they do not get the required nutrition. Therefore, if most of the food is grown in the nation, it can easily feed the population. Not only this, preservatives are often added to the imported foods in an attempt to keep it fresh for a prolonged period since they are transported from long distances. Undoubtedly, these preservatives are detrimental to health. To conclude, although unfavourable conditions might deter the growth of crops in some areas, still domestic food production is encouraged, which is evidently beneficial for government and residents.