Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In modern society, the issue of imposing strict punishments for limiting driving offences has sparked considerable debate. Some argue that imposing strict punishments is the key issue to reducing traffic accidents. Others contend that there are also other effective measures to solve the problems. In my opinion, while I accept imposing strict punishments can reduce traffic accidents a certain degree, I agree that there should be another effective way to reduce traffic accidents. It is true that imposing strict punishments will exert certain deterring effects on those rule breakers. For instance, drivers might ignore the traffic lights and park randomly due to the financial punishment. Those party people might not drive after being intoxicated at the expense of driver's license withdrawal and even a prison sentence. People will be deterred by the serious result of driving offences a different extent. Other people contend the view, one that I am in favour of, that other measures are also effective in reducing traffic accidents. For one point, educating the public on the reason why they should obey the rule is more important than imposing strict punishments. For instance, imposing strict punishments might not come into effect for those risk-preferred young people, who have little idea of the reason for obeying the public rule. In China, many young rich adults dare to race at any time. The stricter the rules are, the more they are excited to break the rule, purely seeking short-period negative achievement. Without being systematically educated, those young people would not foster a sense of responsibility for taking care of others' lives. In conclusion, punishments can reduce the potential rate of traffic offences to some degree, but I highly agree that educating people on the importance of obeying traffic norms is more effective.