These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What are reasons for it? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, there is a major change in family structure with the men do housekeeping usually while their spouses earn the family income. In my opinion, there are two main reasons that lead to this phenomenon, and, in general, this could be regarded as a positive trend. To begin, there are two major causes for the phenomenon of a househusband. The first reason is the development of gender equality. Evidently, when there is no workplace discrimination, women can serve in some areas which used to be dominated by men, such as in manufacturing or government. Consequently, when they get well-paid jobs as well as have high social status, they tend to try hard in order to climb the career ladder instead of taking a role as a babysitter or housewife. Moreover, nowadays, people do not need to come to the office for work. With the popularity of online working, thanks to the availability of the Internet and computers, some male employees choose to stay at home while their wives remain in their careers. In my opinion, the trend of male householders can bring several benefits. First, changing roles in the family structure can bring couples closer. To be more specific, sharing household chores and caring for children can help both partners understand their spouses more deeply and reduce conflicts in the family. Furthermore, males can be fully involved in parenting with their unique characteristics such as decision making or assertiveness. These skills, in combination with females’ intrinsic qualities of patience and compassion, will be a perfect upbringing for children in such families. In conclusion, the development of gender equality and the advance of technology are two main factors involved in the popularity of male homemakers. And this trend can help form a harmonized family and has positive influences on children’s development.