Most artists earn low salaries and should therefore receive funding from the government in order for them to continue with their work. To what extent do you agree

It has been regarded that the government ought to provide financial support to artists since most of them experience obstacles for completing their work because of low remuneration. I agree with this notion to a large extent and reasons behind my stance are discussed in subsequent paragraphs. Admittedly, it is unlikely for governments to give financial help to every sector owing to the limited amounts of funds they own. More importantly, art is not one of the basic needs of human beings, where vast sums of money can be invested only to encourage artists. On the contrary, more pressing issues are there to deal with such as education and health. Apparently, funding should be prioritized to these systems so as to give better access to hospitals and schools to people. Hence, if the government begins to pay funds to the artists, other significant sectors would remain deprived of requisite investment. However, the remuneration of most of the artists is, indeed, very less compared to the other professions like teaching, engineering, medical and many more. This is primarily for a fact that due to this struggle of artists, youngsters hardly opt for this field as a career. Therefore, in such a scenario, financial assistance provided by the government to artists, not only encourage the youth to adopt it as a profession but also culture can be survived through the artworks and can be passed to other generations. Yet another reason for funding the artists is that it would generate revenue for the government via tourism. In other words, when tourists travel to other nations, they are usually interested in the arts of a particular area. In this way, investing some portion of funds in the salaries of artist would encourage them to produce more work, which, in turn, would provide monetary benefits through tourists. This is especially true in the case of European countries, where artists are promoted by their governments and further they produce splendid designs for the galleries. To conclude, although other sectors in the society seek the attention of the government for survival, still, artists are needed to be assisted financially, which also brings benefits for society and government.