Due to the rapid development and expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the introduction of supermarkets in various nations, there is a blow on the local trading firms present there. Some people advocate that the decline in the local business will lead the community in trouble and I strongly agree with this opinion. This essay will firstly, examine some negative effects of dying local businesses on employment and secondly, we will discuss its consequences on the nation. To begin with, the rise of supermarkets and the closure of local businesses may snatch the livelihood of many people who feed their family on business. To further explain, the local traders cannot compete with the mega marts in terms of prices offered, hence suffering a loss, ultimately leading to the closure and they could lose the source of income. For example, megastore, that recently opened in our town, provides a huge discount on products and people prefer to shop from there, due to which the local market is experiencing a decline in their sales. In addition to the above, with the decline in the local business, the economy of the nation could get disturbed which leads to poor lifestyle and corruption in most cases. Briefly, decrease in the disposable income means that the citizens barely can afford a better lifestyle such as quality education, healthy diet and much more, as a result of which nation can be at the risk of corruption. For instance, Nigeria recently experienced civil war and an increase in crime rates because of the growing poverty in the country. In conclusion, with the expansion of the mega-marts there is a clear threat of losing earnings for many local families and per capita income could touch the bottoms.