More and more people work from home and study from home with the development of computer technology. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

I nternet has become an important part of modern life. Using internet-based technologies for work and study while staying has become very common. This essay will argue that working and studying from home is a positive development because it increases people´s free time and is also beneficial for the environment. The most important benefit of this trend is that it saves time and money of employees and students. This is because they do not need to waste time going and coming from work or college. Furthermore, they can set their own timetable of work and study. As a result, people might find more time for their hobbies and family commitments. Despite this, a possible problem is the lack of communication with other persons, which could lead to social isolation. However, new platforms developed with modern technology could tackle this issue. For example, software like Zoom or Facetime offers the possibility of real- time video and audio interactions with people in different cities, countries or even continents, a very realistic alternative for face to face contact. Another big advantage is to the environment. As fewer people have to move out of their homes, less motor vehicles are used as transport media. As a result, less petrol and diesel is used and, therefore, less pollution is caused. Also, traffic congestion, which is a big problem in the cities, would diminish dramatically. In conclusion, this essay supports teleworking and telelearning as positive developments. Although the lack of real social interaction, appear to improve our quality of life and to beneficial for the environment.