It is important for children to learn what is right and what is wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn the distinction. To what extent do you agree? What sort of punishment should be given?

Learning is a never-ending process, and it is necessary to teach kids the difference between right and wrong from childhood. And during this process, at times we might have to punish them if required and I agree with the same. If we want our kids to become better human beings, we need to ensure that they learn to identify the difference between what is good and what is bad as early as possible. As a parent it is our responsibility to check the wrong habits at the right time, for example, a kid in my neighbourhood keeps on fighting with other kids daily and his parents instead of correcting, support that act, which makes him think whatever he is doing is right, this can lead to implications in future. In addition to this, some sort of punishment is required like reducing pocket money, limiting playing hours to ensure that the child does not repeat the same thing. Till the time kids are not penalized, they will not realize what they have done is wrong. However, at the same time, the punishment should not be too harsh because it can have a negative effect on the child, they could start feeling demoralized or could indulge in wrong things. For example, my friend used to beat his son every other day, due to that his son started taking drugs. To summarize, I feel every day is a learning experience for everyone and kids are no exception. It is our moral duty to guide kids to distinguish between things at every stage and during that process, if we need to punish them, we should but reasonably.