Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there is a huge concern about the environment as people have started realising that plastic waste has a negative impact. Some people believe that the reduction of packing materials available commercially should be reduced by the producers and sellers both, while others believe that the onus should be on the purchase patterns of the consumers. This essay will discuss both these sides and give an opinion towards the end. To begin with, supermarkets and manufacturers seems to be the prime reason for the production of excessive packaging materials. The government should introduce some policies or impose a ban on some quality of plastic or other packaging material use. For example, Maharastra introduced a ban on the use of plastics for packaging of milk products, which has really helped to lessen the harmful impact of plastics on the environment in the state. Thus, it is evident that such restrictions need to be applied to the business and sellers to curb the plastic menace. However, the companies only make products which are demanded by the people or consumers. The public is spoilt by the convenience offered by the plastics used. For instance, Gujarat enforced a ban on the use of plastic bags by the public resulting in people reusing the bags from their homes. Supermarkets are now enforced to sell the plastic bags at a given price by the government, this would discourage the consumers in using them. Thus, it can be said that customers have to decrease purchasing products with excessive packaging to save the environment. In conclusion, the end-user can reduce the consumption of goods with excessive packaging to avoid wastage, which will in turn compel the manufacturers and distributors to reduce the production of such items. Thus, I believe that collaborative efforts should be taken by both the manufacturers and the consumers in order to reduce pollution caused by excessive packaging.