Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that students must be a part of voluntary organisations that conduct various programs for the betterment of society. Being a student volunteer, I strongly believe this act and would like to share my opinion regarding this topic. On the one hand, children always tend to show their interest in extra-curricular activities right from their schooling. Although, parents nowadays are equally encouraging their kids to participate in various competitions which are either held by educational institutions or by any private organisations. As such, the modern parental care is moving ahead by leaving the stereotypical methods, where earlier studying was the only push given to kids by their caretakers. However, parents and educators must also guide their pupils through the advantages of various unpaid community services and establish them as a part of school programmes. For example, A son and his dad from my neighbourhood work for an NGO every Sunday, to help raise the awareness of cancer among people. On the other hand, individuals must compulsorily serve the non-profit organisations during their leisure or in their holiday period, which not only benefits the communities working for the poor and needy but also helps in the self-development while they work in teams. For instance, one of my close friends from my post-graduation worked for various voluntary committees. He not only helped the society for its betterment but also had the management and team-building skills which he acquired while he worked. As such, he topped the recruitment drive conducted by one of the Multi-national companies. Thus to conclude, I realised the importance of being a non-profit organisation member and would suggest each and every individual take their time out from their busy lives equally to help build the society and also for their excellence which gets rewarded some or the other day.