Some people say the most important thing about being rich is that it gives you the opportunity to give back or help the poor. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a common impression that the most important thing about having a lot of capital is that it provides you with the chance to aid the poor. I fully disagree with this statement and this essay will further explain with reasons and examples on the same. Firstly, Most of the rich community see the opportunity of aiding poor as an opportunity to publicly market their goodwill rather than focus on the uplifting the public from poverty. Furthermore, In the current world, most of the donations are done for recognition. For example, During the pandemic, a well-known film actress had given away a lot of cash to poor people as it had led to a great surge in the number of her followers in social media platforms like TWITTER and FACEBOOK. Consequently, she acquired a lot of contracts from marketing companies to market their products. Thus, rich people donate wealth with a focus on being famous and thereby the actual aid received by the poor is almost negligible. Secondly, Wealthy folk prefer to donate wealth to charities as this would give them indirect benefits. For Instance, In 2018, about ten thousand Indians have donated about 1 million rupees each to charities as these donations would give them tax benefits under Section 80G. However, this had led to a rise in fraudulent transactions in charities as these institutes wanted to take the money for themselves instead of helping the poor. Hence, being rich does not give you the chance to aid the poor. To Conclude, being wealthy, does not give anyone the chance to help poor but it is a good character that makes any person pull humans from poverty. Thus, I disagree with the popular view as rich folk tend to look to non-monetary benefits like becoming famous or to reduce the tax payments when they donate money to poor.