Older people often choose to spend money on themselves (e.g. on holidays) rather than save money for their children after retirement. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, there is visible tendency that a great number of retirees spend savings on themselves rather than on their children. While some consider that is a wonderful time to see the world, other have a purpose to make their offspring more responsible and independent. This essay will outline major reasons of this trend and explain why this development may be appositive one for a modern society. Apparently, it is believed that financial help that is provided by parents, may make lives of children considerably easier. Moreover, mother and father are supposed to prevent their descendants from a number of difficulties, which could appear in the life of their child. For instance, if a student has merely graduated from university, then he may not have a permanent job, and accordingly, sufficient finances to exist. However, it is better to explain to him how to find a solution from this situation, due to the fact that the offspring will become liable for his own existence. Clearly, the trend to spend money on themselves may lead to numerous beneficial consequences. Firstly, after numerous years of a persistent work, elderly people finally are able to enjoy a restful life. Not only can they travel abroad and explore new countries, but also they can engage in their favorite ways of pastimes. Therefore, a huge variety of activities are available for an elderly person, whose children are taught to rely only on themselves in case of some financial difficulties. In conclusion, the decision of pensioners to enjoy their own hard-earned money can be the reason of some arguments in the society. Nevertheless, I believe it may have a favorable impact on both categories.