In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is clear that in some societies, children are often advised that they can accomplish their desire if they put in enough effort. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks that result from such an approach. Looking firstly at the positives, a significant advantage can be that children will constantly attempt to improve, even if they meet failures, rather than giving up. This is because they feel appreciated for whatever dedication they have shown to attain their goal. For example, famous people like Steve Jobs never gave up on life, instead he kept working towards his goal until he reached and became successful. Besides continuous endeavour, youngsters will believe in themselves more and become self-assured. In contrast, if they are continuously suggested that it is difficult to achieve their wants they will lose hope and feel demotivated. However, advising that working harder will bring success can present some problems. For instance, some young people tend to become stressful and anxious when not praised for the minimal output of their effort. For this reason, they do not understand the importance of attempting again and that working sincerely will bring a better outcome than before. Another significant disadvantage of this feedback is that it makes young ones confused about their own interest and talent. To illustrate this, if one has i nborn talent of music, it is unwise for him to try heart and soul for becoming the best journalist as his surroundings say so. In conclusion, although telling children to work hard can be beneficial in terms of continually improving and being self-confident, it is important to consider that it also makes them depressed for not being admired and puzzled to comprehend their own intelligence and likings.