Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

In modern life, zoos are one of the most enjoyable and exciting attractions all over the world. While some people argue that they are helpful for the conservation of animals, others believe that these places are cruel, and it will be better to close them. The following essay will examine both these statements, and I will also explain why I think zoological parks are beneficial for endangered species. To begin with, one nuance which detracts from the positive aspects of zoos is the fact that animals are deprived of their liberty. To put it differently, the level of quality of these places vary, so some zoos have small enclosures, and to keep animals in such conditions is cruel. As a case in point, a multitude of urban zoos do not have enough space for their habitats to roam and enjoy their life, and many species are placed in small enclosures. As a result, they can potentially lose their natural instincts, which is totally against moral norms and rights of these majestic creatures. On the other hand, in recent years, a multitude of zoological parks have altered their main direction from an entertainment approach to the protection of endangered species. In other words, they have shifted their emphasis to pressing environmental complications by creating special programmes for captive breading, so after some time animals are released into the wild, where they can normally exist. To illustrate this point, Fuji Safari park is the largest place in Japan, which house a thousand species, and it has a variety of conservation projects for wild animals, as well as different natural ecosystems. From my point of view, without such places, many creatures could not survive in their usual habitats. In conclusion, we are all too familiar with such a social dilemma as zoos existence. While critics of these places claim that it is against moral norms to keep animals in small enclosures, I totally believe that many zoological parks have been modified, and nowadays their main mission to protect species.