Some people think that news have no connection to people's lives, so then it is a waste of time to read the news in the newspaper and watch television news programs. Do you agree or disagree?

A few individuals believe that news channels and newspaper focus their news on famous people due to which people often waste their time on these platforms. I disagree with this notion and reasons to strengthen my viewpoint are put forth in subsequent paragraphs. On the one hand, it is believed by a few people that mass media is primarily focused on celebrities and politicians lifestyle. This is primarily due to the fact that TRP gets increase by broadcasting news related to such people. However, I disagree with this belief that such types of news occupy a large share of broadcasting and printing content. In fact, It is due to the attention-seeking capability of such news that they seem to cover most of the time. For example, according to the Census board of India, news channel spends 5-8% of the time on telecasting stories related to important personalities. This is very less percentage of whole time and therefore, it is defying their logic that people waste their time on mass media. On the other hand, I believe watching TV news channels and reading newspaper are imperative for general masses because of several reasons. First and foremost, reporters and journalists report news which can make the public aware of their fundamental rights. It is generally seen that debates and discussion on TV news tend to inform the merits and demerits of policies and laws implemented by governing authorities, thereby making viewers aware of them. To cite an example, people often become aware of various tax exemptions through TV and newspapers because official documents with different jargons are quite difficult for general people to understand. Thus newsrooms are assisting people for getting their rights. In addition, it is with the help of the press that people get information about unprecedented events which can adversely affect their life. For example, a recent pandemic of Corona Virus has created apprehensions among people around the world. In this case, the media played a vital role in making people alert about the effects of disease and possible prevention measures. Apart from this, the media also helped people in making aware of different rumours related to the virus. Thus, it can be concluded that media is conducive for normal citizens of a nation. To encapsulate, even though print and digital media get some monetary benefit by printing and telecasting about celebrities, still I assert that users of these platforms should continue to watch and read so that they can become aware of government policies and other news.