Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Is this a positive or negative development?

Given the increasing environmental issues caused by using fossil fuels as the primary power source, certain nations are promoting the consumption of greener substitutes. This essay attempts to shed light on the merits and demerits of this tendency before concluding that the former is more significant. On the one hand, applying smog-free technologies could be disadvantageous to a certain extent. First and foremost, the enormous costs incurred to do research and introduce these types of green sources could put a strain on government coffers, thereby leading to budget deficits, tax hikes, or reduced social welfare. As a result, ordinary citizens, especially the underprivileged, would struggle more to make ends meet. Furthermore, renewables also have their limits. For example, most alternative technologies, such as wind turbines or solar panels, heavily depend on weather conditions, so manufacturing or factories could be interrupted if there is rain or no sunlight for a long period of time. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that the national authorities are in favour of eco-friendly energy. One rationale is that this trend could greatly enhance the quality of citizens' lives. For instance, a rise in the use of electric cars means that fewer emissions and carbon dioxide are released into the air, thereby mitigating the problems of air pollution and protecting humans against serious diseases, such as lung cancer or respiratory infections. Another justification is that environmentally friendly fuels could minimize the negative effects of climate change. In fact, a variety of experts claim that green sources of power could slow down global warming that raises a sea level, which could guard animal habitats as well as human living resources, such as crop fields, accommodation, or production facilities in coastal countries. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that the phenomenon of countries to find renewable resources might harm individuals or societies, I would contend that their upsides outweigh the downsides.