Too much emphasis is placed on testing these days. The need to prepare for tests and examinations is a restriction on teachers and also exerts unnecessary pressure on young learners. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays increasing focus on evaluation in academic institutions is injecting more pressure both on the tutors and students. We agree with the aforesaid statement and we will share a few pointers to support in the below essay. To commence with, teenagers are under tremendous burden during the examination days because the result of their efforts and hard work depends solely on the performance on that particular day. Although, the prime motive of the assessments is to check the depth of an individual's understanding of the subject. However, the current evaluation system emphasizes more on assessing an individual's memorizing capability before the examination day. To illustrate, there is a huge increase in the number of cases where students commit suicide after failing in tests. Hence, there is a strong need to remove the stress from students. Furthermore, it requires a huge effort from administrative bodies to conduct these tests at the national level. Alternatively, in recent times the continuous assessment is gaining its popularity specifically for primary education and is beneficial both for academic system and kids. Conducting multiple assignments promotes a homogenous assessment and diversify the student's pressure. Specifically, in India,we are still at the earlier stages of introducing such a marking scheme. Nevertheless, the concerned authorities are accepting the need to change and have recently increased the weightage of internal marks for high school level. To conclude, examination put a lot of pressure on the teenagers which could yield drastic results in some cases. Therefore, there is a strong need for some amendments in the system to tackle this growing problem.