Some people think that mental strength is the most important factor for success in sports. However, some others believe that it is more important to have strong and fit people. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

While some argue that gaining victory in sports is derived from physical strength, others point out that mental toughness is the key factor. From my point of view, mental power is as important as physical fitness in determining success. On the one hand, grabbing success in sports requires extraordinary physical fitness. First, muscular strength and other skills such as agility, endurance, and stamina enhance the success chance of athletes. For instance, runners need to adjust their pace during different stages of the track to maintain their position and take the lead. Moreover, most sportspeople require specific diets as well as intensive training to build muscle. This is because physical toughness helps them avoid injuries during competitions, or their career path would be ruined. In other words, having a good physical condition ensures their continuity in athletic performance. Nevertheless, those who advocate the idea of being physically strong is the key factor to be successful are not seeing the indispensable role of mental toughness. First and foremost, a competitive spirit or a win-at-all-cost attitude is the key factor to motivate sports players to try as hard as possible in the game. Furthermore, in endurance sports such as football, players must stay focused despite their tiredness. For this reason, trainers put in place spirit coaching and complex exercises on the field to train players to think and make decisions when they are stressed and fatigued. Lastly, in case of having failed, they must be mentally strong to overcome and achieve their own goals in the next competition. In conclusion, sports players have to face both mental and physical difficulties in the field. Therefore, they should be trained to be physically fit and mentally resilient.