Many people think that students should be allowed to choose the subject that they study in school, whereas others feel that they should choose the curriculum. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern era, the issue of whether or not students can select their own subjects in school has become highly controversial. There are those who say that it is one of the rights of pupils to pick up what to learn by themselves, however, others believe that it is not. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the argument and provide my overall opinion. Generally speaking, there are a variety of reasons why people believe that students should make a decision about what to study by themselves. Perhaps the main reason why people are in favour of this idea is that students will be more interested in the coursework if they have chosen it by themselves. If a student is interested in a particular subject, they are more likely to do well in it. Secondly, a syllabus may lead to disruption in the classroom. Students who are studying something they do not enjoy may disturb their classmates and teachers. Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that students should not allowed to choose what they want to study. The main reason why people are against this idea is because students tend not to know what they need for their future. In fact, most people decide on their jobs after graduating from high school, which means they cannot be sure of what they have to study in advance. In addition, some subjects should be mandatory whether or not a student is interested in them. For instance, if a person cannot read or do basic mathematics, they will struggle to survive in modern society. Furthermore, most of the professional careers demand structured education. For example, if you want to be an engineer you must have a strong basic in mathematics and other science subjects. In conclusion, my personal view is that students should be allowed some control over their choice of subject because this would encourage them to be more independent in their studies and they would enjoy their lessons more. However, the more essential subject should be studied.