One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. · What do you think the causes are? · What solutions can you suggest?

More and more people are driving private cars nowadays than ever before. Congestion caused by too much traffic on roads and streets in major cities and towns all around the world is a growing concern. This issue will be discussed in this essay along with some possible solutions that may be implemented to alleviate this problem. A major cause of transport jams in the metropolis is that most of the families now own more than one car which has led to the soaring number of automobiles on the roads and resulted in long queues and halts. A further reason for this issue is the poor quality of public transportation. As public transport is often inconvenient, overcrowded, and not available for the entire day and people have to wait for long hours; therefore, private vehicles are often preferred by them. The possible solution for this traffic congestion may be the promotion of car-sharing schemes which will motivate people to use fewer cars at cheap prices. Furthermore, cycle lanes must be built in metro cities to encourage people to use bicycles instead of cars that not only beneficial for their health but also advantageous for the environment. Finally, more frequency of comfortable buses and trains would inspire people to use public transport. Therefore, governments must promote and provide better public transit facilities to their citizens with a reduced fare. In conclusion, it is clear that the increasing ownership vehicles in families and worse quality of public transport is the main reason for traffic jams in major cities. Governments can play i mportant role to promote ride-sharing, cycle riding and public transportation usage by proving more amenities to their residents.