Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic? What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Travelling has become an inseparable part of a lot of people's lives. Many people like to travel to the common tourist destinations worldwide, whereas, many like to travel to places of harsh conditions. These come with its advantages and disadvantages and the essay will further elaborate considering both the sides. Adventure always has it's own risks. Many tourists nowadays like to travel to places with extreme conditions. This is because a lot of them like to experience thrill and adventure which these places offer. For instance, the extreme cold regions of the Himalayan mountain range offer breath-taking views of snow-clad mountains and the number of tourists visiting these has gradually increased over the years. But there any many risks involved in this, the oxygen levels decrease dramatically as you climb these mountains. As a result, people suffer due to low oxygen levels and there have been numerous instances where this has caused disabilities and in some cases death. On the other hand, visiting places of difficult conditions has several benefits. As cold and hot places test the limits of people, it helps them to build more confidence in themselves and understand their risk taking capabilities. Another advantage is that, in recent times, the locals of places like the arid Sahara Desert and the coldest region of Siberia in Russia have benefitted to a great extent due to more and more people visiting those regions. It has helped them monetarily as they can do more business and the governments have made great efforts to boost tourism in these places, by promoting them on their websites and advertising on social media. To conclude, although these places offer extreme thrill and risks involved are very high in comparison to the usual tourist destinations, more people are opting to travel because they like to test their limits and explore the not so frequented places in the world.