SHOULD GOVERNMENT REGULATE THE FAST FOOD INDUSTRIES IN THE SAME WAY THAT REGULATES THE DRUG, ALCOHOL AND TOBACCO INDUSTRIES?

In recent decades, fast food has become increasingly prevalent, and people argue that the government should restrict this product like what was done with drug, alcohol and tobacco industries. From my perspective, I completely agree with this point because of several reasons. It is clear that fast food is not good for our health at all. While drug, alcohol and tobacco have direct influences on their consumers right after taking in, fast food has more detrimental effects on us and even in a longer period of time. In fact, this kind of food contains a higher amount of unwanted nutrients like salt and fat, which may cause diseases such as diabete, high blood pressure and obesity. The US, for instance, is one of the leading countries with fast food developing in a rapid pace and in the number of residents suffering overweight as well. More importantly, fast food may have a negative impact on a nation in terms of its culture. Clearly, this sector plays a vital part in today’s busy world because it could save our cooking time. However, it is the convenience that would make the traditional cuisines of countries disappeared due to the fact that people prefer to visit fast food outlets frequently and gradually forget recipes of traditional foods. Apart from this drawback, with the increasing availability of fast food, home-cooked meals are no longer shared in regular family gatherings. Therefore, this industry is essentially one of the culprits that might harm countries’ customs and practices. In conclusion, despite the utility of fast food, it can do more harm than good overall. With all the reasons mentioned, I support the view of imposing tight restriction on it like the way the government do with a ddictive substances.