The news media have too much influence on peoples lives today and this is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the news media, both digital as well as print, influence the minds of the citizens, and is a negative trend. This essay agrees with the statement because politicians influence the public through biased media, and students are fed with gossip news instead of the important daily news. Firstly, some political parties misuse the news companies by hook or crook in their favour. Moreover, these political outfits ask such companies to telecast that information to the public that is politically beneficial, and also it works for the politicians indirectly during the campaign of the elections. For example, Fox News, the leading national channel in the US, was criticized by all nations for supporting and favouring the US president Donald Trump during his nomination for the second term. Additionally, due to this, the public would not be aware of the other side. Secondly, for television rating points news organizations give importance for crimes and gossips, depriving students with important news. Furthermore, this may affect their general knowledge, as children preparing for competitive examinations are dependent on the news media for the current affairs. For instance, recently almost all news channels in India ran the death of movie actor Sushant Singh for days, during which many people could have missed the vital news of the plane crash in Indonesia and floods in some parts of India. To conclude, I totally agree that some news organizations have negatively influenced the citizens, due to its biased views and political pressures, as well as the students waiting to improve their knowledge for clearing competitive exams.