The number of advertisements for charities on television and the internet seems to be increasing. What is causing this ? Is this a positive or negative development ? Give reasons for your answer & include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

In the last few years, it has been seen that online fundraising campaigns sky-rocketed enormously. A greater and ever-increasing reach of donation advertisements has become concerned for a few people, whereas others see them as an encouraging development. In this essay, I shall discuss both the sides of this notion and I shall also present a rationale behind my opinion on this topic, that I see it as a positive development. Internet and television have played a pivotal role in allowing philanthropy seekers to reach prospective donors within a short period of time. For example, a flood-affected farmer is now able to generate enough money by raising campaigns on websites like 'gofundme.com'. In old times, due to infrastructural limitations, there was an upper limit on the number of donors that can be reached. However, with the help of modern technology, A needy can connect to the potential donor in different ways. Therefore, mediums such as the internet and television are proving as a blessing to potential fund-seekers. Of course, there are many negative and dark sides too exists in contrast to feel-good stories, as in some cases, there are intruders and fraudsters scamming this humanitarian medium. It can be felt from many testimonials from people who got robbed in such incidents. A similar case was well documented a few years back when a donation seeker faked his illness in order to generate wealth for his luxurious lifestyle. Because of crimes like these donors get repelled from genuine charity subjects. It also adds an additional burden on advertisement platforms to diligently call out wrongdoings and provide legal assistance to the victims, who start seeing every charity advertisement in a bad light. In conclusion, I am optimistic about the intent and penetration of charity advertisements and see them as a positive development. But, at the same time, one has to be careful while getting engaged with a particular charity program. Charity is a god's work and the advertisements provide the necessary infrastructure to both a person in need as well as the selfless donor.