Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In recent times, societal norms on the main critical factors affecting athletes’ performance have been brought into question. Whereas many individuals assume that physical wellbeing is highly essential, others believe that mental status is more significant. In my opinion, a successful sportsman should be physically fit as well as mentally stable. Regarding physical strength, it is considered important for two fundamental reasons. The first one is protecting athletes from being easily injured. Since they exercise regularly, their bodies, by the time, will be able to move appropriately avoiding serious injuries. Another feature of being physically fit is that this helps players maintain their performance for long periods without fatigue. For instance, in order to win a marathon, runners ought to continue the race at a higher speed. Seldom did a first -place winner achieve success by losing his stamina or being overweight. In terms of mental stability, as players can keep their minds unstressed, they rarely distract while participating in games. Having been more focused, they can accomplish beyond their limits. In addition, a stress-free stable mind does not only boost concentration but also motivates players to do their best. For example, in a football match, the team leader could push the team via reducing tension and having great mind stability. From my perspective, the lack of agility will definitely affect concentration and performance as well. To illustrate, when the famous player Cristiano Ronaldo faced some issues due to his taxes case, his performance was reduced despite his perfect physical status. Therefore, both skills are equally crucial and concomitant to reach the players’ goals. To conclude, owing to the correlation between being physically strong and having a clear mind, I believe that it would be better for sportsmen to combine both of them to make remarkable records in their games