More and more students choose to move to other countries to study their higher education. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

It has become a current trend that the number of those who decide to study abroad increases. I believe there are more benefits than drawbacks, for diverse knowledge and skills regardless of some potential feeling of isolation from family and friends. On one hand, the experience of higher education in foreign nations will bring more positive outcomes since students are able to gain more different understanding and techniques that cannot be obtained otherwise. In other words, it will become such a stimulating moment that they learn in an unfamiliar way. For instance, I was expected to work more interactively and cooperatively with teachers and other classmates during my stay in the U.S. while I was only required to listen to lectures and take notes in Japan. Therefore,I was more encouraged to externalize my opinions to deepen my understanding in the form of speech and discussion, which led to the dramatic improvement of communication skills that are critical for problem-solving. On the other hand, studying in different countries can cause some negative consequences due to the growing sense of loneliness. Indeed, being apart from family and friends can lead to their emotional instability. As they lack emotional support, they often suffer from an overwhelming sense of confusion and anxiety when dealing with language barriers and cultural differences. Consequently, they will lose their confidence and not concentrate on their study, which can result in their deteriorating academic performance. In conclusion, the benefits of studying abroad surpass the negative aspects since students are encouraged to acquire various skills and knowledge in a more dynamic way. Thus, it will become a valuable learning experience in spite of some emotional gaps in adapting to an unfamiliar environment of education.