Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nobody would dispute the fact that living in a country where you have to speak another language is difficult. While some people believe that this could lead to some troubles, I completely disagree with that. Although the reasons why people might have a harder time to adapt to foreign cultures and customs are manifold, few people would contest that immigrants bring us more benefits than drawbacks. Firstly, it is true that language barriers can be challenging especially for the seniors as they learn things slower than others, but people learn a new language faster when they live in that environment. Furthermore, researches suggest that immigrants and international students contribute to economic growth, which can lead to the country's GDP growth and create more employment opportunities. For instance, schools can use more income to open more programmes, and immigrants can hire locals to work for their companies. It is evident that foreigners have significant impacts on multiple-culture societies. It is obvious that global cities, such as New York and London, are composed of people from different cultural backgrounds, which lead to multiple-culture societies. For example, there have been more types of restaurants and more international festivals. Another key benefit of foreigners is that locals now have better understandings of other cultures, and they respect other cultures more. In conclusion, I disagree with the view that international residents cause huge troubles to the society, because I believe that immigrants adapt to local culture fast, contribute to economic growth and have a significant cultural influence.