In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is considered very important. Why might this be the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

In some countries, purchasing a house rather than renting one is very important for people because a self-owned house is a depiction of social status, comfort and security. However, I believe it depends on the situation of the person. In various countries, owning a house is related to a high status in the society. For instance, if a person who is owning a house such as flats, bungalows, then everyone in the society believes that he is rich. Most of them like decorating their own home because they consider it as a heaven. One of the main reasons to own a property, is that we can avoid paying rent to landlords. To illustrate, people who cannot afford their own house, they prefer to rent one and due to this fact, they have to pay money to them. In my opinion, buying a home depends upon various circumstances. For instance, people who are wealthy can own a house immediately as they do not have to pay loans, but for middle-class families who cannot afford to pay the money at once, have to apply for loans. Additionally, a lot of interest is deducted from their salary and they also have to pay electricity and maintenance costs and due to this fact, their whole savings sum up to zero. To conclude, it is good to have a property but it depends upon the situation. For people who are already living a luxurious life can own a house immediately but, on the other hand, it is extremely difficult for a common person.