Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet

There is currently a contentious argument over the negative effects of extreme and immoral content present on the internet. Some people argue that the only way to limit the effects is to censor the information through government -controlled methods.I believe that the government should regulate certain harmful information, but full censorship would hinder the freedom of speech and access to knowledge. First and foremost, there are many reasons why the government should control some information available online. Censorship protects children from pornography, cyberbullying and violent materials. For instance,the dark websites have a lot of illegal content that causes serious harm to our young generation. Moreover, limiting access will prevent hate speech and extremist propaganda that can lead to violence and discrimination. In addition to this, censorship also stops the spread of misinformation. For example, during COVID-19, a lot of misinformation spread around the world regarding the vaccines and the number of deaths. On the other hand, the government should not control everything on the internet. Censorship can be abused by authoritarian regimes and political parties to silence dissent and manipulate public opinion. Thus, full censorship will not allow people to have freedom of speech and access to real information, which is essential in democratic societies. Furthermore,the internet has turned the whole world into a global village, and the government of one country cannot fully control content hosted elsewhere. However, tech-solutions such as AI and parental control allow individuals and families to filter content without full censorship. In conclusion, due to the aforementioned reasons, I believe that the government should regulate extreme content for the protection and safety of youth, but not censor the internet entirely, as it limits the freedom of speech and risks government overreach.