Some people think that the olympics is no longer important in the 21st century. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

Some people have the opinion that the Olympics does not have any significance in the 21st century. I agree with the statement that in the current century there is no place for the Olympics. Firstly, the majority of games played in the Olympics are old-fashioned games. Also, these games are not much competitive therefore, a lot of people lost interest. Although, there are some games like Football and Tennis which people love to watch due to the fewer number of teams are participating in it, therefore, gradually Olympics lose their importance. For instance, according to the report published on the official website of the Olympics, in the last 10 years, the viewership of this event has been decreased by 54% which indicates that the Olympics are no more appealing to the people. Secondly, due to advancements in technologies, online games have become more popular. A large number of people playing it on a daily basis as well as lots of online events are organizing for the online games competition. This trend is very devastating for the Olympics, and in the near future, online games would easily replace the Olympics. For example, a survey was published by the Game Lovers, 70% of people in Japan believe that the Olympics was the event of the previous century, and it should be replaced with the game competition because games are more interesting as compare to the Olympics. To conclude, I would like to reinstate that the Olympics lose its importance in this century, and there are other alternatives which can easily replace it.