Art is considered to be an important part of society as well as an expression of its culture. Do you think it is important for children to be taught art? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on art rather than other subjects?

Art has been an important means of expression for different cultures over the years. Despite this relevance, some people raise objections regarding teaching this subject at school. I strongly agree that it is of utmost importance to include it in the curriculum, although not in detriment of other classes such as physics, mathematics or biology. Children should have contact with a rts since pre-school. This type of early stimulation can be a way of developing and sustaining a creative side which can be very useful later on in life. Many studies have shown that kids which paint, sing or dance since an early age end up with a strengthened creativity skill. Furthermore, this contact can be beneficial as a means of expression and self-realization. It is widely known that activities such as writing or playing music can bring psychological benefits to those who practice it due to a strong sense of fulfilment. Despite the arguments presented above, it should not be the main focus of one's education. Firstly, other subjects normally taught help in the development of a child in different ways, especially when they are young. Because of this, a prioritization of one class over another in pre-school might bring more negative consequences than positive ones. However, as one progresses and reaches high school, artistic matters should probably have a reduced time in their schedule. This is because most educational systems are designed so that the person eventually enters university, and the admission tests rarely have any artistic questions on them. To summarize, art is and will continue to be an important part of our culture even if it is not taught in educational institutions. However, I do believe that children should receive this education early on, and continue with it through school albeit with a reduced schedule. It is important that governments be reminded of this matter at hand so that they can act on it in the best way possible.