Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their own countries. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to change negative attitudes?

Some individuals are not in favour of foreigners visiting their nation causing them to think that international tourists do more harm than good in their cultural value. In my opinion, this negative attitude is the outcome of various misconceptions about foreign travellers. The government and the media can do a lot to bust these myths. Firstly, cultural differences exist between nations and that is the reason behind this animosity towards foreign travellers. People, especially those living in conservative societies, believe that the influx of foreign tourists to their country can damage their ethnic culture and values. India, for example, is a conservative country that expects both men and women to dress modestly and behave conservatively in public. When western tourists, especially women, wear skimpy outfits while touring the country, they invite a lot of unwanted stares and in addition, it would be the same in Arabian countries where public display of affection is strictly forbidden as a result Arabians also do not promote individuals engage in acts of affection in public. Secondly, While it is true that no culture is better or worse than others, countries should still advise their people to dress and behave appropriately when they are abroad. In other words, Foreigners need to realize that when they disrespect local customs and traditions, they are putting their safety at risk. For example, the incident where a group of tourists were attacked in Sri Lanka due to a traveller wearing an inappropriate shirt consisting of a disgraceful picture of Lord Buddha causing is a famous discussion topic. Consequently, the host nations should also convince their people that tourism is actually good for their country and economy. It creates jobs and boosts the local economy. To conclude, misconceptions about foreigners are the reason many people dislike them. International visitors can do a lot to dispel these myths by behaving appropriately and respecting foreign cultures and customs when they are abroad. The governments of host nations should also convince their society of the importance of tourism.