Many people believe that countries should produce food for all population eats and import food as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate on whether or not a country should import food. Some people argue that it is not a positive choice and countries should focus on producing their own food. However, I do not agree with this opinion and I will present arguments below to support my thought. To begin with, I believe importing food is not only positive but also necessary. First, very few countries are able to produce sufficient food to feed their entire population. As a result, they need to import food to cover their demands. For example, countries such as England and Canada could not produce the amount of food necessary to feed the whole population and, therefore, importing is an option. Second, there are some geographic reasons that do not allow nations to produce some kinds of foods. To illustrate, some fruits, such as banana and apple, do not grow in certain climate zones. If a country is not able to produce it, the only way is to import it. Furthermore, when it comes to food importation it is not only about food but also about economic. Partnerships and agreements between nations are common and it is not simple to suspend previous contracts. This is because countries need each other to attend their increasing demand and the best option is to strengthen those contracts, not cancel it. For instance, Brazil does not produce sufficient soy while China does not produce enough meat and, to solve this problem, there are agreements to exchange these goods. To sum up, considering the arguments aforementioned, importing foods is necessary and those who believe that it is wrong do not have strong arguments to support their view. I hope rich countries improve their deals and have a cooperate effort to support poorer nations.