Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

All over the world governments want to do lots of economic development so, they can uplift their living standard. As a result of economic development, some important social values are lost. I agree that economic development merits overweigh the demerits. Firstly, the developed counties have more job opportunities for the population. Because government spending lots of wealth on developing projects. For example, the government of Canada has started many new projects, they need 1 million immigrants to work in development programs. However, the authorities of Canada is providing jobs to their fellow citizens, but they also provide a chance to educated people from other countries as well. Moreover, developed countries also take good care of society by providing free services such as education, medical. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks of developing economy. People are getting really materialistic and losing their social values. They are running after materialistic stuff and too busy to make money. therefore, they are not spending time with family and friends. For instance, some parents are really busy with their jobs, they can not spend time with their children. Their children can end up in depression or in a bad society. So money is not important than the future of the next generation. In summary, although there are some social values people are compromising to make more money, still, there are more positive things they are getting due to economic development.