Some people believe that the government should spend more money putting in more works of art like paintings and statues in cities to make them better places to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the state budget should invest in several art activities with the aim of improving the quality of urban life. In my opinion, although this idea could play a vital role in making citizens’ daily lives better, this policy is not appropriate to all cases because of the orientation development in the cities. To begin with, it could be seen that an appreciation for art could gain several benefits for citizens. Firstly it is true that art brings significant meanings to a region. Thus, displaying paintings or status is one method in local museums or exhibitions to stimulate people being curious about their land and could also provide a huge amount of knowledge relating to many aspects such as regional history, culture or geography. Moreover, the government could collect many arts from local artists to boost their reputation in the public’s eyes and enhance the selling of their works, which means improving their living expenses. Besides, the local arts usually describe the beauty of the local area through the living experience of the artists in the area. Therefore, people viewing these could feel closer to their views and curious about the cultural values in these to do more research on. As a result, the quality of their lives could stem from the interpretation of their region, thus it is suitable for the state to raise funds for art. On the contrary, I believe that many citizens have not felt satisfied that their administrators focus on the arts, due to other top concerns still existing in their lives. It could be seen that in many cities, their living standards are lower than the average. That means people would like to meet other fundamental living conditions such as accommodation, enough food or convenient transportation from the government, rather than many abstract definitions relating to art. For example, Pleiku is an undeveloped city in the central highland of Viet Nam. To be more specific, its majority citizens belonging to the ethnic minority leads to an understandable point why they are careless in any terms of arts rather than contributing to having a full stomach day by day. In this case, funding art is an inappropriate idea, instead on that the nation should focus on developing basic infrastructure such as building roads, schools, hospitals and industrial areas to make sure that the locals can receive general education to stand on their feet. In conclusion, it is an applicable idea that the government could spend money on artwork to improve citizens’ quality lives. However, I think that the first step is to consider which policies meet the needs of the indigenous to invest money in an effective way.