*C14, T2* *Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems* *Discuss both these views and give your own opinion*

Many people argue that the extinction of certain breeds of plants and animals is the leading cause of the environmental problem because of how they are interrelated. Although, they might not be wrong, in my opinion, I concur with those that feel there are more pressing environmental issues such as the effect of global warming and greenhouse effect on the habitat. On the one hand, it is believed that the interrelationship that exists between different kinds of plants and animals is affected by the loss of some species. For example, if coral dies, many of the fish and marine life that feeds off it also dies. Moreover, many people also note the importance of the biodiversity of the planet and point out that when a specie dies this is reduced. This biodiversity is important because we are constantly finding that certain species have important applications such as in the field of medicine. Hence, the mutual relation of certain families of plants and animals is believed to be of great importance in the Ecosystem. However, I do not subscribe to this viewpoint. On the other hand, others consider global warming and greenhouse effect as a more serious environmental hazard that needs to be dealt with and I support this opinion. Firstly, it is worthy of note that the extinction of genus can be considered a part of nature. For instance, we know that the dinosaurs died out due to naturally changing weather patterns, and Life of our planet still continues. Secondly, global warming and greenhouse reaction which is a man-made problem are rapidly emerging and it has the potential to wipe out all life on our planet. Therefore, if the earth continues to experience rising temperatures it will start to become uninhabitable even for humans. In conclusion, while some persons believed that the abatement of some kinds of plants and animals is the sole reason for environmental issues, I agree with those that consider global warming and greenhouse fallout a more challenging problem.