Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that laws play a crucial role in developing society. Consequently, its absence should probably contribute to the destroying of a state. I entirely agree with this point, as rules define the borders of both permissible and inadmissible issues. They also determine the rights and duties of each member of society. To begin with, without an appropriate legal system there would be a significant increase in crime rates. Impunity will definitely lead to a great number of illegal actions. And this will have disastrous consequences for the country. None of the citizens will be in safety, and the rights of their property might be endangered. For example, according to the recent research of Oxford University, those states which possess more laws, experienced less percentage of crime cases than the countries, which legal field showed some imperfection. On the other hand, the role of each individual in the state should be defined accurately. The lack of any order is likely to lead to embarrassment. No part of any company would be capable to cope with its usual tasks neither perfectly, nor in time. To illustrate, the experiment of one of the social organizations in Berlin shows, that the lack of rules has influenced negatively productivity of the employers. In detail, the time they wasted on, solving an ordinary problem, was approximately tripled in the conditions of absence of any regulations. In conclusion, rules and laws definitely have a positive impact on the right development of a society. Without them, humans would face serious threats during their existence.