Environmental problems are too big for individual countries and individual people to address. We have reached the stage where the only way to protect the environment to address it at an international level. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Obviously, every nation should be concerned about environmental issues as they have a negative effect on our world. Some people argue that these problems are more challenging than what each country can deal with domestically, and a joint effort need to be made by all countries to solve this problem. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this viewpoint and this essay will explore several reasons to support my belief. First of all, it is widely acknowledged that environmental problems have a detrimental effect on all countries around the world. Take global warming as a clear example, the emission of greenhouse gas from human activities leads to the rise in global temperature which inevitably affects more than one country at a time. For this reason, a policy on the reduction of these harmful gas emission needs to be agreed at the international summit. Therefore, it seems to me in order to preserve our planet, these issues need to be approached and addressed on a global scale. However, it is unarguable that dealing with environmental problems domestically such as providing better public transportation can lead to the reduction in gas emissions which will probably mitigate the issues. Although I have some sympathy for this view, it is also true that the most effective method to protect the whole world needs to be done at an international level not only at a personal or domestic scale. Additionally, tackling these problems is an immense financial burden, which many countries cannot afford on their own. Hence, I would maintain that environmental problems are greater than each country can fix them alone. In conclusion, environmental issues have a negative effect on all human beings, and are bigger than that individual country can solve them on their own. I believe that these issued should be addressed internationally rather than domestically and a joint effort need to be made at an international conference.