In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In the UK, citizens over a certain age are sent off to live in a care institute where they have access to medical personnel who tend to them round the clock. It is common for the government to pay for this service but it is not strange to find private institutions where the family of the aged person does the paying. I believe this service should be funded by the government and this essay will discuss why. Firstly, folks who are eligible for such homes are people past retirement age, this implies that they have served their country and contributed to the economy and now that they can no longer continue, it is only fair that they are taken care of by the system they dedicated their working years. Secondly, another reason for my opinion is that access to healthcare is already subsidized for the public according to our laws. For this reason, it is not far-fetched to expect that this is applied to the aged in our community. The loved-ones of the intended residents are also taxpayers, they should not be saddled with the responsibility of paying for quality health of their old dependents when there is an alternate method. To conclude, developed countries have a system where old dependents are taken care of by the State, this privilege should be government and not privately sponsored. I believe they have paid their dues to the country and that they should be rewarded for it. They should have a controlled environment where they can live with their peers and enjoy the sedentary and idyllic lifestyle that comes with their ages.