Tourism is becoming increasingly important as a source of revenue to many countries, but its disadvantages should not be overlooked. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that although tourism plays a vital role in the economy of a country, yet demerits can not be ignored. I agree with this notion to a large extent and reasons to strengthen my viewpoint are put forth in the subsequent paragraphs. On the one hand, tourism assists the government to generate huge revenue for the country. It is primarily due to the collection of important foreign exchange from the tourist that this revenue is earned. Apart from this, fees charged in the form of entry tickets to the various historical monuments also aid the government in enhancing revenue. To exemplify, the tourist industry contributes 30% to the economy of the Asian country Thailand as historical places and a large number of beaches attract people around the world to visit this country. It clearly depicts that tourism is imperative for this country. On the other hand, the prominent disadvantage of tourism is that visitors can hamper the cleanliness of tourist locations. It is generally seen that these places are full of litter and rubbish due to the irresponsibilities of the travellers towards maintaining hygiene at these sites. Not only this, thronging of famous cities by visitors can create a nuisance to local people as congestion on roads can lead to traffic jams. To illustrate, hill stations often suffer from high traffic in the summer season due to the influx of tourists in order to get respite from hot weather. This can, sometimes, create commuting problems for the native people as roads get filled with vehicles. Yet another disadvantage of tourism is that it affects negatively the indigenous culture of a tourist destination. To explain, since aboriginal people often try to use attire and language of the foreign visitors, it is likely that this development can adversely impact the culture in a long run. For example, in India, many people have started to wear pants and shirts and forgetting traditional wears like kurta and so on, thereby, similarly, extinction many other traditional rituals. To conclude, although tourism is contributing to the GDP od a nation, still, I believe, countries should not become fully dependent on the tourists as it can impinge the tradition and cleanliness of a nation.