Some believe children should be taught to give speeches and presentations in school. Why is this? What other skills do you think it is important to be taught in schools?

It is said that it is important to teach juveniles how to deliver speeches and public speaking in school. The particular reason for this circumstance is that it plays a significant role in building children's confidence. Another essential skill that students must possess is the ability to think critically. To begin with, teaching students how to present their projects in front of people helps them become more confident at a young age. That is to say that when a kid is told that he should be brave enough to stand in front of many people to convey his ideas, even though he might be frightened at first since the presentation is always a daunting challenge for many individuals, his bravery will be cultivated through time as he gets accustomed to this kind of experience. In fact, research from Havard University shows that adults who are incompetent in presentation are likely to have low self-esteem eventually. Another skill that should accompany children during their growing-up processes is competence in critical thinking. This is because when pupils are guided to think outside of the box, in other words, to analyse a problem or an issue independently, they will be able to distinguish the good and bad and make wise choices for themselves later in life. For instance, in most US schools, pupils are taught to be independent of other people's opinions and be responsible for their own decisions, and this results in a generation which is outstanding for its ability to think critically. In conclusion, it is very necessary for children to learn how to give speeches and presentations at an early age because it cultivates courage and bravery, which are required soft skills later in life. Moreover, schools should consider constructing independent thinking since it brings lots of benefits to our kids.